Institute of Health Sciences
Population-Based Medicine

630

Address: Hoppe-Seyler-Str. 9
72076 Tübingen


About us

The Department of Population-Based Medicine (PBM) focuses on population health. Our goal is to better understand the influences of behavioral, environmental, biological, social, economic, cultural, and psychological factors on health and disease in populations or population groups to develop better interventions for prevention, health promotion, and medical care on a broad scale.

Population-Based Medicine works with epidemiological and statistical methods and models. The focus is on identifying patterns in risk factors for disease and protective factors for health. The identification of such determinants and their interaction supports the development of more specific health guidelines to promote the physical and mental health of the population.

Management

Portrait photo

Prof. Dr. Norbert Schmitz

Head of the Population-Based Medicine Department

E-mail address: Norbert.Schmitz@med.uni-tuebingen.de

Person profile: More about the person

Contact

Sonja Grund
Department Management

+49 7071 29-88813


E-mail address: Sonja.Grund@med.uni-tuebingen.de


News

Association between depression, ultra-processed food consumption and type 2 diabetes

Webinar with Prof. Dr. Norbert Schmitz and Dr. Akankasha Sen, March, 21, 2024

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Nobert Schmitz mit Sarah Rau und Sonja Grund vor der Leinwand

World Health Summit 2023, Berlin

“A Defining Year for Global Health Action”.

Learn more

Research Dialogue

Look forward to an interesting exchange in the spirit of research!

Current dates



The Master’s Program Population-Based Medicineat the Medical Faculty Tübingen

The Master’s Program Population-Based Medicine
at the Medical Faculty Tübingen

The Master's program Population-Based Medicine is a consecutive, research-oriented program, which leads to a Master of Science (M. Sc.) degree. The program is conducted entirely in English and prepares students to respond to both challenges and opportunities to improve health within and across populations.

Our goal is to train future population health experts with outstanding methodological knowledge and interdisciplinary expertise to address the full range of factors influencing health and disease. A key element of the program is a 14-week full-time practicum in a private or public organization (e.g., local planning or government offices, hospitals, NGOs) in Germany or abroad.

We are looking forward to students from all over the world sharing our enthusiasm for population-based medicine!

Portrait photo

Dr. Tanja Seifried-Dübon

Program Coordination

Phone number: +49 7071 29-87111

E-mail address: pbm.studium@med.uni-tuebingen.de

Research

Research

Our research program focuses on the interaction of chronic conditions (e.g., diabetes, cardiovascular conditions, cancer), behavioral factors (e.g., physical activity, smoking, diet, alcohol consumption, and sleep), social factors (e.g., socioeconomic status, social network), and mental health (e.g., depression, anxiety, and stress).

Learn more about our research topics

Group picture with laptop

Certificates and Associations

Institut für Gesundheitswissenschaften
Population-Based Medicine

630

Adresse: Hoppe-Seyler-Str. 9
72076 Tübingen


Über uns

Die Abteilung Population-Based Medicine (PBM) beschäftigt sich mit der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung. Unser Ziel ist es, Einflüsse von verhaltensbezogenen, umweltbezogenen, biologischen, sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und psychologischen Faktoren auf Gesundheit und Krankheit in der Bevölkerung bzw. in Bevölkerungsgruppen besser zu verstehen, um bessere bevölkerungsbezogene Maßnahmen für die Prävention, Gesundheitsförderung, und medizinische Versorgung entwickeln zu können. 

Population-Based Medicine arbeitet mit epidemiologischen und statistischen Methoden und Modellen.  Im Fokus steht hierbei die Identifikation von Mustern in Risikofaktoren für Krankheiten und protektive Faktoren für Gesundheit.  Die Identifizierung solcher Determinanten und deren Interaktion unterstützt die Entwicklung spezifischerer Gesundheitsrichtlinien zur Förderung der physischen und psychischen Gesundheit der Bevölkerung. 

Leitung

Portraitfoto

Prof. Dr. Norbert Schmitz

Leitung der Abteilung Population-Based Medicine

E-Mail-Adresse: Norbert.Schmitz@med.uni-tuebingen.de

Personenprofil: Mehr zur Person

Kontakt

Sonja Grund
Abteilungsmanagement

07071 29-88813


E-Mail-Adresse: Sonja.Grund@med.uni-tuebingen.de


Aktuelles

Prof. Dr. Nobert Schmitz mit Sarah Rau und Sonja Grund vor der Leinwand

World Health Summit 2023, Berlin

“A Defining Year for Global Health Action”.

Mehr erfahren

Gruppenfoto vor der Frankfurter Skyline

Gesundheitsamt Frankfurt a. M.

unsere Studierenden werfen einen Blick hinter die Kulissen ...

Weiter

Forschungsdialog

Freuen Sie sich auf einen interessanten Austausch im Sinne der Forschung!

Aktuelle Termine


Pressemeldungen

13.09.2021

Neue Professur am Institut für Gesundheitswissenschaften

Professor Dr. Norbert Schmitz übernimmt Leitung der neugeschaffenen Abteilung für Population-Based Medicine an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Tübingen und ist am Aufbau des gleichnamigen Studiengangs maßgeblich beteiligt



Der Studiengang Population-Based Medicine an der Medizinischen Fakultät Tübingen

Der Studiengang Population-Based Medicine
an der Medizinischen Fakultät Tübingen

Der Masterstudiengang Population-Based Medicine ist ein konsekutiver, forschungsorientierter Studiengang, der mit einem Master of Science (M. Sc.) abschließt. Der Studiengang wird vollständig in englischer Sprache unterrichtet und bereitet die Studierenden darauf vor, alle Herausforderungen im Bereich der Bevölkerungsgesundheit lösungs- und zukunftsorientiert anzugehen.

Unser Ziel ist es, künftige Experten für Bevölkerungsgesundheit auszubilden, die über herausragende methodische Kenntnisse und interdisziplinäres Fachwissen verfügen. Somit können sie das gesamte Spektrum der Faktoren, die Gesundheit und Krankheit beeinflussen, erfassen. Ein Schlüsselelement des Programms ist ein 14-wöchiges Vollzeit-Praktikum in einer privaten oder öffentlichen Organisation (z.B. lokale Planungs- oder Regierungsbüros, Krankenhäuser, NGOs) in Deutschland oder im Ausland. 

Wir freuen uns auf Studierende aus aller Welt, die unsere Begeisterung für population-based medicine teilen!

Portraitfoto

Dr. Tanja Seifried-Dübon

Studiengangskoordination

Telefonnummer: 07071 29-87111

E-Mail-Adresse: pbm.studium@med.uni-tuebingen.de

Forschung

Forschung

Unser Forschungsprogramm konzentriert sich auf das Zusammenspiel von chronischen Erkrankungen (z. B. Diabetes, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Krebs), Verhaltensfaktoren (z. B. körperliche Aktivität, Rauchen, Ernährung, Alkoholkonsum und Schlaf), sozialen Faktoren (z.B. sozioökonomischer Status, soziales Netzwerk) und psychischer Faktoren (z. B. Depression, Angst und Stress).

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Forschungsthemen

Gruppenbild mit Laptop

Zertifikate und Verbände