Go to the main content

201
202
200
203
204

Address: Calwerstraße 14
72076 Tübingen


Person profile: 07071 29-82311


Fax number: 07071 29-4141


Cognitive neuropsychiatry

Cognitive neuropsychiatry is a relatively new field of research in psychology and psychiatry. It deals with the causes of psychiatric symptoms and psychopathological phenomena, especially with their neural basis. Cognitive neuropsychiatry also deals with normal psychological processes and their changes in psychiatric diseases.

The cognitive neuropsychiatry research group in Tübingen is concerned with basic research on emotions (such as the feeling of exhilaration), personality traits (such as the "sense of humour") and psychiatric symptoms (such as formal thought disorders).The current focus is on studies of "functional neuroanatomy", i.e., which brain regions are particularly significant for certain psychopathological symptoms or personality traits. Our main method is functional magnetic resonance imaging. In addition, we conduct behavioral experiments on healthy individuals and patients and work together with other disciplines (neuroradiology, personality psychology, linguistics) on an interdisciplinary basis.

Contact

frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: +49 7071 29-86124


Management:


frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: PD Dr. Alexander Rapp


E-mail address: alexander.rapp@med.uni-tuebingen.de


frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: Prof. Dr. Barbara Wild


E-mail address: barbara.wild@med.uni-tuebingen.de


Current projects

Current projects

Irony is a linguistic device and social cognition at the same time. Being unconditionally indirect makes it already by definition a prime example of non-literal language. The special feature of pragmatic interpretation, apart from the common grammatical definition as the "opposite of what is said", is the necessary contextualisation and adoption of perspective for the process of understanding. Despite (meta-)cognitive complexity, which requires its decoding on the recipient side, it is found as a ubiquitous figure of speech in everyday discourse. Conversations, films, literature, social media - irony places itself in any linguistic communicative space, is necessarily intentional, and thus occupies a key role within social cognition alongside other tropes.

The well-known limitations of irony comprehension in children and autism can be attributed to impaired perspective taking and pragmatic skills. In this project, the investigation of the processing of irony will be transferred to other clinical pictures (borderline personality disorder, schizophrenia) and defined in more detail. In addition to the construction of an ecologically valid paradigm from videos, interactive design and the possibility to specifically vary conditions of irony comprehension, special attention is currently paid to possible differences within and between the various psychopathologies and related to other language figures, personality traits and social cognitions.

Humour as a character trait can facilitate human relationships and represent a positive coping strategy. This project investigates to what extent humour is present as a character trait in psychiatric patients, especially those with depression or schizophrenia, to what extent the handling of humorous material is altered, whether humour plays a role as a coping strategy, whether patients can train this coping strategy and whether Hzumour possibly represents a protective factor.

Language comprehension difficulties occur early in the course of schizophrenic disorders and are relevant both clinically and for understanding the pathophysiology of the disorder. A long-known feature is the difficulty in correctly understanding non-literal, "transferred" meanings (such as metaphors, metonymies, irony). Different forms of non-literal language are investigated in healthy subjects and patients with schizophrenic psychosis of varying severity using fMRI. Preliminary results in healthy subjects indicate different functional neuroanatomy for different types of non-literal meanings. Schizophrenic patients show impaired activation especially in core regions of language perception. The current studies also aim to determine the influence of psychopathology on brain activation, such as the influence of the severity of formal thinking disorders.

Interindividual differences between individual subjects are detectable in most fMRI studies of higher cognitive functions (such as cartoon comprehension or whole sentence reading). Although these may exhibit remarkable intra-individual stability, they have been insufficiently explored. However, numerous studies point to an influence of personality variables. In a current study, the influence of humor and exhilarability (in the sense of a personality trait) is investigated. Paradigms of humor perception (understanding of cartoons) and the perception of positive emotions are applied.

Definitions and explanations of terms

Definitions of the term "emotion" exist almost as many as authors who have written about it. By emotions, following Plutchik's (1984) definition, we mean "complex response sequences to stimuli involving cognitive evaluations, subjective changes, autonomic and neural effects, impulses to action, and behavior." It still seems important to add Damasio (2000) that triggering stimuli can be both internal (e.g., tissue damage with pain, but also the imagination of a situation) and external to the individual (e.g., the perception of another person). Thus, our idea is that emotions represent convolutions of reactions that occur at different levels and include physiological changes such as neuronal activations or even heart rate acceleration, internal perception of one's state, and observable behavior. These changes do not have to be equally pronounced on all levels - e.g. the externally observable behaviour is usually adapted to the respective situation.

It is useful to use the distinction made, for example, by Damasio (2000) between emotions ("emotion") and moods ("mood"), the former being regarded as a short-lived state, the latter as a longer-lived state; affect refers to the interplay of emotions and feelings including motivation etc. and emotions ("feelings") are the subjective perception of emotions. In psychology there was a debate in the 1970s about whether emotions need to be conscious, but this will not be discussed further here (see, for example, the entertaining summary in the book by LeDoux (1996)). In the meantime, however, it has been acknowledged that a considerable part of what constitutes an emotion takes place unconsciously and that an emotion does not necessarily have to include a conscious evaluation.

Functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) is a research method of functional brain imaging that can be used to depict which areas of the brain are required for a specific cognitive performance compared to a control condition. In simplified terms, the principle is as follows: magnetic resonance imaging can be used to visualize the magnetic properties of tissue. In clinical routine, the procedure is used, for example, to produce structural images of the brain. In addition, fMRI makes use of the fact that the local blood flow in a brain area changes when many neurons are active in this area (this is called the BOLD effect). Since blood contains iron and thus has special magnetic properties, this also leads to a weak but measurable change in magnetic properties, and this can be measured and graphically represented.

So, using a complex evaluation methodology, it is possible to determine which areas of the brain are differently active during two different conditions (for example, while watching a funny versus a non-funny cartoon). This provides further insight into which functions are represented in which areas of the brain (basic research). However, direct investigations of whether a certain disease is present or whether the test subject is "thinking" something specific are not (yet) possible with this method.

Cooperations

  • Psychotherapy Research Group, UKPP Tübingen (Prof. Dr. Klingberg)
  • Section for Experimental Nuclear Magnetic Resonance of the CNS, University of Tübingen (Dr. Michael Erb)
  • School of Computing, University of Leeds (Dr. Katja Markert)
  • AG Psychophysiology (Dr. Ehlis, S. Schneider)
  • University Hospital for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, Marburg (Prof. Dr. Kircher, Dr. Irina Falkenberg)
  • Institute for Personality Psychology and Diagnostics, University of Zurich (Prof. Ruch)

Selected publications

  • Felsenheimer A, Kieckhaefer C, Rapp A. (2017, October). A new German language test for irony comprehension in psychiatric disorders. Poster accepted for presentation at the World Congress of Psychiatry 2017, Berlin.
  • Schreier A, Rapp A. Neural correlates of faux pas-detection: the role of schizotypal personality traits. npj Schizophrenia. 2016; 2: 107. DOI: 10.1038/npjschz.2016.9.
  • Rapp AM, Herbert C, Ethofer T, Erb M, Arslan M. Neural correlates of experimentally induced speech-illusions in non-clinical subjects: an fMRI-study using the white noise paradigm. Schizophrenia Bulletin. 2015; Supplement 1: 237.
  • Schneider S, Wagels L, Häußinger FB, Fallgatter AJ, Ehlis AK. Rapp AM. Haeodynamic and neural markers of pragmatic language comprehension in schizophrenia.World J Biol Psychiat. 2015.
  • Ettinger U, Mohr C, Gooding DC, Cohen AS, Rapp A, Haenschel C, Park S. Cognition and Brain Function in Schizotypy: A Selective Review. Schizophrenia Bulletin. 2015; 2: 417-426.

Certificates and Associations

Cookie Einstellungen
Bitte treffen Sie eine Auswahl um fortzufahren.
Weitere Informationen zu den Auswirkungen Ihrer Auswahl finden Sie unter Hilfe.
 
Um fortfahren zu können, müssen Sie eine Cookie-Auswahl treffen.

Cookies zulassen:
Wir setzen das Analysetool Google Analytics ein, um Besucher-Informationen wie z.B. Browser, Land, oder die Dauer, wie lange ein Benutzer auf unserer Seite verweilt, zu messen. Ihre IP-Adresse wird anonymisiert übertragen, die Verbindung zu Google ist verschlüsselt.

Nur notwendige Cookies zulassen:
Wir verzichten auf den Einsatz von Analysetools. Es werden jedoch technisch notwendige Cookies, die eine reibungslose Navigation und Nutzung der Webseite ermöglichen, gesetzt (beispielsweise den Zugang zum zugangsbeschränkten Bereich erlauben).

Sie können Ihre Cookie-Einstellung jederzeit auf der Seite Datenschutzerklärung ändern. Zum Impressum.

Zurück

Cookies zulassen Nur notwendige Cookies zulassen

Springe zum Hauptteil

201
202
200
203
204

Adresse: Calwerstraße 14
72076 Tübingen


Personenprofil: 07071 29-82311


Faxnummer: 07071 29-4141


Kognitive Neuropsychiatrie

Die Kognitive Neuropsychiatrie ist eine verhältnismäßig neue Forschungsrichtung der Psychologie und Psychiatrie. Sie befasst sich mit den Ursachen von psychiatrischen Symptomen und psychopathologischen Phänomenen, insbesondere mit deren neuronalen Grundlagen. Kognitive Neuropsychiatrie beschäftigt sich auch mit normalpsychologischen Vorgängen und ihren Veränderungen bei psychiatrischen Erkrankungen.

Die Tübinger Arbeitsgruppe kognitive Neuropsychiatrie beschäftigt sich mit Grundlagenforschung zu Emotionen (wie etwa dem Gefühl der Erheiterung), Persönlichkeitseigenschaften (wie etwa dem "Sinn für Humor") und psychiatrischen Symptomen (wie etwa formalen Denkstörungen).Schwerpunkt sind derzeit Untersuchungen zur "funktionellen Neuroanatomie", also zur Frage, welche Gehirnregionen für bestimmte psychopathologische Symptome oder Persönlichkeitseigenschaften besonders bedeutsam sind. Unsere Hauptmethode ist die funktionelle Kernspintomographie. Darüber hinaus führen wir Verhaltensexperimente an Gesunden und Patienten durch und Arbeiten interdisziplinär mit anderen Fachgebieten (Neuroradiologie, Persönlichkeitspsychologie, Sprachwissenschaften) zusammen.

Kontakt

frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: 07071 29-86124


Leitung:


frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: PD Dr. Alexander Rapp


E-Mail-Adresse: alexander.rapp@med.uni-tuebingen.de


frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: Prof. Dr. Barbara Wild


E-Mail-Adresse: barbara.wild@med.uni-tuebingen.de


Aktuelle Projekte

Aktuelle Projekte

Ironie ist sprachliches Mittel und soziale Kognition zugleich. Unbedingt indirekt zu sein, macht sie bereits per Definition zu einem Paradebeispiel nichtwörtlicher Sprache. Besonderheit der pragmatischen Deutung ist neben der gängigen grammatischen Definition als „Gegenteil des Gesagten“ die notwendige Kontextualisierung und Perspektivübernahme für den Verständnisprozess. Trotz (meta-)kognitiver Komplexität, die ihre Dechiffrierung auf Rezipientenseite erfordert, findet sie sich als ubiquitäre Sprachfigur im alltäglichen Diskurs wieder. Gespräche, Filme, Literatur, soziale Medien – Ironie platziert sich in jeglichem sprachlichen Kommunikationsraum, ist notwendig intentional und nimmt so innerhalb sozialer Kognition eine Schlüsselrolle neben anderen Tropen ein.

Die hinlänglich bekannten Einschränkungen des Ironieverstehens bei Kindern und Autismus lassen sich bis dato auf Beeinträchtigung der Perspektivübernahme und pragmatischer Fähigkeiten zurückführen. Die Untersuchung des Verarbeitungsprozesses von Ironie wird in diesem Projekt auf weitere Krankheitsbilder (Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörung, Schizophrenie) übertragen und näher bestimmt. Neben der Konstruktion eines ökologisch validen Paradigmas aus Videos, interaktivem Design und der Möglichkeit, gezielt Bedingungen des Ironieverstehens zu variieren, wird dabei aktuell besonderer Augenmerk auf eventuelle Unterschiede innerhalb und zwischen den verschiedenen Psychopathologien gelegt und mit anderen Sprachfiguren, Persönlichkeitseigenschaften und sozialen Kognitionen in Bezug gesetzt.

Humor als Charaktereigenschaft kann menschliche Beziehungen erleichtern und eine positive Bewältigungsstrategie darstellen. In diesem Projekt wird untersucht, inwieweit Humor bei psychiatrischen Patienten, insbesondere mit Depression oder Schizophrenie, als Charaktereigenschaft vorhanden ist, in wieweit der Umgang mit witzigem Material verändert ist, ob Humor als Bewältigungsstrategie eine Rolle spielt, ob Patienten diese Bewältigungsstrategie trainieren können und ob Hzumor evtl. einen protektiven Faktor darstellt.

Sprachverständnisschwierigkeiten treten früh im Verlauf schizophrener Erkrankungen auf und sind sowohl klinisch wie auch für das Verständnis der Pathophysiologie der Erkrankung von Relevanz. Eine lange bekannte Besonderheit sind hierbei insbesondere Schwierigkeiten im korrekten Verstehen nicht-wörtlicher, "übertragener" Bedeutungen (etwa von Metaphern, Metonymien, Ironie). Verschiedene Formen nicht-wörtlicher Sprache werden bei Gesunden und Patienten mit schizophrener Psychose unterschiedlichen Schweregrads mittels fMRI untersucht. Erste Ergebnisse bei gesunden Versuchspersonen weisen auf eine unterschiedliche funktionelle Neuroanatomie für verschiedene Arten nicht-wörtlicher Bedeutungen hin. Schizophrene Patienten weisen eine beeinträchtigte Aktivierung insbesondere in Kernregionen der Sprachperzeption auf. Ziel der aktuellen Untersuchungen ist auch die Bestimmung des Einflusses der Psychopathologie auf die Gehirnaktivierung, etwa der Einfluss des Schweregrades von formalen Denkstörungen.

Interindividuelle Unterschiede zwischen einzelnen Versuchspersonen sind in den meisten fMRI-Untersuchungen zu höheren kognitiven Funktionen (wie etwa dem Verstehen von Cartoons oder dem Lesen ganzer Sätze) nachweisbar. Obwohl diese eine bemerkenswerte intra-individuelle Stabilität aufweisen können, sind diese bisher unzureichend erforscht. Zahlreiche Untersuchungen weisen jedoch auf einen Einfluss von Persönlichkeitsvariablen hin. In einer aktuellen Untersuchung wird hierbei der Einfluss von Humor und Erheiterbarkeit (im Sinne einer Persönlichkeitseigenschaft) untersucht. Zur Anwendung kommen Paradigmen der Humor-Perzeption (Verstehen von Cartoons) und zur Wahrnehmung positiver Emotionen.

Definitionen und Begriffserklärungen

Definitionen des Begriffs "Emotion" existieren nahezu so viele wie Autoren, die darüber geschrieben haben. Mit Emotionen meinen wir, der Definition von Plutchik (1984) folgend, "komplexe Reaktionssequenzen auf Stimuli, die kognitive Evaluationen, subjektive Veränderungen, autonome und neurale Effekte, Handlungsimpulse und Verhalten beinhalten". Wichtig erscheint noch die Ergänzung von Damasio (2000), dass auslösende Stimuli sowohl intern (z.B. ein Gewebeschaden mit Schmerz, aber auch die Imagination einer Situation) wie auch außerhalb des Individuums (z.B. die Wahrnehmung einer anderen Person) sein können. Unsere Vorstellung ist also, dass Emotionen Reaktionskonvolute darstellen, die auf verschiedenen Ebenen ablaufen und physiologische Veränderungen wie neuronale Aktivierungen oder auch Herzfrequenzbeschleunigung, innerliche Wahrnehmung des eigenen Zustandes und beobachtbares Verhalten beinhalten. Dabei müssen diese Veränderungen nicht auf allen Ebenen gleich stark ausgeprägt sein - z.B. wird das äußerlich beobachtbare Verhalten normalerweise der jeweiligen Situation angepasst.

Sinnvoll ist die z.B. von Damasio (2000) getroffene Unterscheidung zwischen Emotionen ("emotion") und Stimmungen ("mood"), wobei ersteres als ein kurz, letzteres als ein länger andauernder Zustand betrachtet wird; Affekt ("affect") bezieht sich auf das Zusammenspiel von Emotionen und Gefühlen inklusive Motivation etc. und Gefühle ("feelings") sind die subjektive Wahrnehmung von Emotionen. In der Psychologie gab es in den siebziger Jahren des vorigen Jahrhunderts eine Diskussion darüber, ob Emotionen bewusst sein müssen, auf die hier jedoch nicht weiter eingegangen sein soll (s. z.B. die unterhaltsame Zusammenfassung in dem Buch von LeDoux (1996)). Inzwischen ist jedoch anerkannt, dass ein beachtlicher Teil dessen, was eine Emotion ausmacht, unbewusst abläuft und zu einer Emotion nicht notwendigerweise eine bewusste Bewertung gehören muss.

Die funktionelle Kernspintomographie (fMRI, deutsch: fMRT) ist eine Forschungsmethode der funktionellen Hirnbildgebung, mit der sich darstellen lässt, welche Gehirnbereiche bei einer bestimmten kognitiven Leistung im Vergleich zu einer Kontrollbedingung benötigt werden. Das Prinzip ist vereinfacht dargestellt so: Mittels Kernspintomographie lassen sich die magnetischen Eigenschaften von Gewebe darstellen. In der klinischen Routine kommt das Verfahren z.B. zum Einsatz um strukturelle Aufnahmen vom Gehirn anzufertigen. Bei der fMRI macht man sich zusätzlich zu Nutze, dass sich die lokale Durchblutung in einem Gehirnbereich ändert, wenn in diesem Bereich viele Neuronen aktiv sind (man nennt dies den BOLD-Effekt). Da Blut Eisen enthält und somit spezielle magnetische Eigenschaften hat, führt dies auch zu einer zwar schwachen, jedoch messbaren Änderung der magnetischen Eigenschaften, und diese lässt sich messen und graphisch darstellen. 

Mittels einer komplexen Auswertemethodik lässt sich also feststellen, welche Bereiche des Gehirns während zweier verschiedener Bedingungen (etwa während dem Anschauen eines lustigen gegenüber einem nicht-lustigen Cartoon) unterschiedlich aktiv sind. So gewinnt man weitere Einsichten, welche Funktionen in welchen Bereichen des Gehirns repräsentiert sind (Grundlagenforschung). Direkte Untersuchungen, ob eine bestimmte Krankheit vorliegt oder ob die Versuchsperson etwas bestimmtes "denkt" sind mit dieser Methode aber (bisher) nicht möglich.

Kooperationen

  • Forschungsgruppe Psychotherapie der UKPP Tübingen (Prof. Dr. Klingberg)
  • Sektion für experimentelle Kernspinresonanz des ZNS, Universität Tübingen (Dr. Michael Erb)
  • School of Computing, University of Leeds (Dr. Katja Markert)
  • AG Psychophysiologie (Dr. Ehlis, S. Schneider)
  • Universitätsklinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Marburg (Prof. Dr. Kircher, Dr. Irina Falkenberg)
  • Institut für Persönlichkeitspsychologie und Diagnostik, Universität Zürich (Prof. Ruch)

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Felsenheimer A, Kieckhaefer C, Rapp A. (2017, October). A new German language test for irony comprehension in psychiatric disorders. Poster accepted for presentation at the World Congress of Psychiatry 2017, Berlin.
  • Schreier A, Rapp A. Neural correlates of faux pas-detection: the role of schizotypal personality traits. npj Schizophrenia. 2016; 2: 107. DOI: 10.1038/npjschz.2016.9.
  • Rapp AM, Herbert C, Ethofer T, Erb M, Arslan M. Neural correlates of experimental induced speech-illusions in non-clinical subjects: an fMRI-study using the white noise paradigm. Schizophrenia Bulletin. 2015; Supplement 1: 237.
  • Schneider S, Wagels L, Häußinger FB, Fallgatter AJ, Ehlis AK. Rapp AM. Haeodynamic and neural markers of pragmatic language comprehension in Schizophrenia.World J Biol Psychiat. 2015.
  • Ettinger U, Mohr C, Gooding DC, Cohen AS, Rapp A, Haenschel C, Park S. Cognition and Brain Function in Schizotypy: A Selective Review. Schizophrenia Bulletin. 2015; 2: 417-426.

Aktuelle Förderung

BMBF: The POSITIVE study. (Dr. A. Rapp, Karin Langohr)

zur Webseite BMBF

Cookie Einstellungen
Bitte treffen Sie eine Auswahl um fortzufahren.
Weitere Informationen zu den Auswirkungen Ihrer Auswahl finden Sie unter Hilfe.
 
Um fortfahren zu können, müssen Sie eine Cookie-Auswahl treffen.

Cookies zulassen:
Wir setzen das Analysetool Google Analytics ein, um Besucher-Informationen wie z.B. Browser, Land, oder die Dauer, wie lange ein Benutzer auf unserer Seite verweilt, zu messen. Ihre IP-Adresse wird anonymisiert übertragen, die Verbindung zu Google ist verschlüsselt.

Nur notwendige Cookies zulassen:
Wir verzichten auf den Einsatz von Analysetools. Es werden jedoch technisch notwendige Cookies, die eine reibungslose Navigation und Nutzung der Webseite ermöglichen, gesetzt (beispielsweise den Zugang zum zugangsbeschränkten Bereich erlauben).

Sie können Ihre Cookie-Einstellung jederzeit auf der Seite Datenschutzerklärung ändern. Zum Impressum.

Zurück

Cookies zulassen Nur notwendige Cookies zulassen