330

Address: Calwerstr. 7
72076 Tübingen


E-mail address: face@​med.​uni-​tuebingen.​de


frontend.sr-only_#{element.icon}: +49 7071 29-83799


Craniosynostoses - growth disorders of the skull

Craniosynostoses

Growth disorders of the skull

A craniosynostosis is a premature ossification of one or more of the so-called cranial sutures, which is accompanied by a circumscribed or general growth disorder of the cranial skeleton. The growth impulse comes from the rapidly enlarging brain, not from the bone itself.

There are four main cranial sutures (frontal, coronal, sagittal, and lambdoid), which, with the exception of the frontal suture, which ossifies already towards the end of the first year of life, normally do not close until the second to third decade of life. The open cranial sutures in childhood ensure, on the one hand, the displacement of the cranial bones during birth and, on the other hand, the rapid growth of the skull due to the brain growing very fast in the first year of life.

In case of a premature closure of one or more cranial sutures, a growth retardation of the skull and resulting characteristic deformation of the skull occurs.

Father lies with child on chest
The general goal of therapeutic measures for craniosynostosis is to eliminate, mitigate, or prevent as many of the negative consequences of synostosis as possible, thereby creating optimal conditions for the child's development.

Interdisciplinary consultation

Contact

Interdisciplinary consultation
for Craniofacial Anomalies

frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: Neuropediatric Outpatient Clinic,
Children's Hospital C3
Hoppe-Seyler-Str. 1
72076 Tübingen, Germany


Directions

Thursday 3-5 pm
1x monthly

+49 7071-29-83806


Departments involved:
Neuropediatrics
(OA Dr. Jan Kern, Dr. Karin Haas-Lude)
Neurosurgery
(Prof. Dr. Martin Schuhmann)
Oral and maxillofacial surgery
(Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Krimmel)


More about the Neuropediatric Outpatient Clinic

Referring clinics and practices

Contacts and contact persons

Learn more

Therapy

The general goal of therapeutic measures for craniosynostosis is to eliminate, mitigate or prevent as many of the negative consequences of synostosis as possible, thereby creating optimal conditions for the child's development. Depending on the form and characteristics of the synostosis, aesthetic aspects or reasons such as lowering of increased pressure in the head or protection of the eyes by enlarging the eye socket are in the foreground.

Depending on the form of synostosis, there are two surgical principles, which are performed in joint work by pediatric neurosurgery and oral and maxillofacial surgery.

Passive remodeling

In passive remodeling, as used for sagittal suture synostosis, for example, the correspondingly ossified cranial suture and the adjacent bones of the cranial calvaria are removed. Within a few months, the bone is remodeled by the body (called reossification) and the skull is remodeled in the interval in between according to the shaping force of the growing brain. This operation should be performed between the 5th-6th month of life, because at this time of maximum brain growth the internal pressure in the head is highest and the reossification also occurs without problems. Surgery at an earlier time, e.g. at 3 months of age, requires additional treatment with a helmet to support the reshaping. This early endoscopically assisted therapy offers advantages especially in metopica and coronary suture synostoses, as a later, reshaping and major surgery can often be avoided.

Active remodeling

Active remodeling is used, for example, in frontal suture/metopicasynostosis or isolated coronal suture synostosis at the age of 10-12 months. In this case, the skull bone in the area of the forehead and the roof of the orbit, including the ossified suture, is removed, divided into suitable segments, actively remodeled and then reassembled in the desired shape and fixed to the base of the skull. This improves the deformity in the area of the forehead and ocular skeleton and, in the case of syndromal craniosynostoses, also creates space in the head.

In some synostoses, a backward extension of the skull is also applied.

The most important risk of these operations is relevant blood loss, which is mainly due to the large wound area. In this case, the administration of blood reserves and clotting factors is often necessary despite all blood-saving surgical techniques and measures taken during the operation as a rule. After the operation, the children spend one night in our pediatric intensive care unit to ensure optimal care and monitoring of blood values. The total inpatient stay is between 4-7 days, depending on the type of surgery and the age of the child.

The probability of a craniosynostosis recurring after a successful operation, i.e. the space for the brain becoming too small so that a second operation is necessary, is a maximum of 10% for isolated synostoses and at least 60% for syndromes with many affected sutures.


Follow-up

After surgery, children are followed up regularly for years in our craniofacial consultation by a team of pediatric neurosurgeons, oral and maxillofacial surgeons, and neuropediatricians to detect any recurrences early.

Forms of craniosynostoses

Scientific illustration
Premature suture closure with respective resulting characteristic head shape compared to the normal skull shape in open skull sutures. The closed suture is no longer visible in the respective image.

In sagittal suture synostosis, the altered direction of growth results in an elongated, narrow skull shape with a protruding back of the head and prominent forehead (so-called scaphocephalus). The fontanel is often narrow or completely closed and a bony groin can be palpated in the area of the sagittal suture.

Metopicasynostosis results in a head shape that is pointed in the forehead region often with a palpable bony ridge at the metopic suture. The shape of the forehead may not develop normally and there is often retraction in the temporal region or over the lateral region of the orbits. As a compensatory reaction, one can often observe an increased growth of the skull in the posterior region. All changes together lead to a classic triangular head shape (so-called trigonocephalus), especially when viewed from above.

In unilateral coronal synostosis, asymmetry of the forehead and also face develops (so-called facial scoliosis) with flattening of the forehead and orbit on the affected side and protrusion of the forehead on the opposite side (so-called anterior plagiocephalus). The eye on the affected side often appears larger, and the nose may deviate to the opposite side. Bilateral coronal synostosis is very rare and leads to increased skull growth in width (so-called brachycephalus). A very high and flat forehead develops, the eye sockets may be reduced in size. Often the skull grows compensatory in height (so called turricephalus).

In lambdoid synostosis, there is a unilateral asymmetry of the back of the head (so-called posterior plagiocephalus) with flattening on the affected side and compensatory protrusion on the opposite side. Asymmetry of the ears may be noticeable when viewed from the front. The main differential diagnosis to the very rare lambdoid suture synostosis is the so-called and relatively frequent "positional plagiocephalus" in which the lambdoid sutures are open.

Certificates and Associations

Go to the main content

330

Adresse: Calwerstr. 7
72076 Tübingen


E-Mail-Adresse: face@​med.​uni-​tuebingen.​de


frontend.sr-only_#{element.icon}: 07071 29-83799


Kraniosynostosen - Wachstums­störungen des Schädels

Kraniosynostosen

Wachstums­störungen des Schädels

Eine Kraniosynostose ist eine frühzeitige Verknöcherung einer oder mehrerer der sogenannten Schädelnähte, die mit einer umschriebenen oder allgemeinen Wachstumsstörung des Schädelskeletts einhergeht. Der Wachstumsimpuls geht vom sich rasch vergrößernden Gehirn, nicht vom Knochen selbst aus. 

Es existieren vier Hauptschädelnähte (Frontal-, Coronar-, Sagittal-, und Lambdanaht), die sich mit Ausnahme der Frontalnaht, die bereits gegen Ende des ersten Lebensjahres verknöchert, normalerweise erst ab dem zweiten bis dritten Lebensjahrzehnt verschließen. Durch die in der Kindheit offenen Schädelnähte wird zum einen die Verschiebung der Schädelknochen unter der Geburt gewährleistet, zum anderen wird das rasche Schädelwachstum durch das im ersten Lebensjahr sehr schnell wachsende Gehirn ermöglicht.

Im Falle eines vorzeitigen Verschlusses einer oder mehrerer Schädelnähte entsteht eine Wachstumshemmung des Schädels und daraus resultierender charakteristischer Verformung des Schädels.

Vater liegt mit Kind auf der Brust
Das generelle Ziel der Therapiemaßnahmen bei Kraniosynostosen ist, möglichst viele der negativen Folgen der Synostose zu beseitigen, abzumildern oder vorzubeugen und dem Kind dadurch optimale Bedingungen für seine Entwicklung zu schaffen.

Interdisziplinäre Sprechstunde

Kontakt

Interdisziplinäre Sprechstunde
für Kraniofaziale Anomalien

frontend.sr-only_#{element.contextual_1.children.icon}: Neuropädiatrische Ambulanz, Kinderklinik C3
Hoppe-Seyler-Str. 1
72076 Tübingen


Anfahrt

Donnerstag 15-17 Uhr
1x monatlich

07071-29-83806


Beteiligte Fachabteilungen:
Neuropädietrie
(OA Dr. Jan Kern, Dr. Karin Haas-Lude)
Neurochirurgie
(Prof. Dr. Martin Schuhmann)
Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie
(Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Krimmel)


Mehr zur Neuropädiatrischen Ambulanz

Zuweisende Kliniken und Praxen

Kontakte und Ansprechpartner

Mehr erfahren

Therapie

Das generelle Ziel der Therapiemaßnahmen bei Kraniosynostosen ist, möglichst viele der negativen Folgen der Synostose zu beseitigen, abzumildern oder vorzubeugen und dem Kind dadurch optimale Bedingungen für seine Entwicklung zu schaffen. Je nach Form und Ausprägung der Synostose stehen der ästhetische Aspekte oder Gründe wie Senkung eines erhöhten Druckes im Kopf oder Schutz der Augen durch Vergrößerung der Augenhöhle im Vordergrund. 

Je nach Form der Synostose existieren zwei Operationsprinzipien, die in gemeinsamer Arbeit durch die Pädiatrische Neurochirurgie und die Mund-Kiefer-Gesichtschirurgie durchgeführt werden.

Passive Remodellierung

Bei der passiven Remodellierung, wie sie z.B. bei der Sagittalnahtsynostose angewandt wird, werden die entsprechend verknöcherte Schädelnaht sowie die angrenzenden Knochen der Schädelkalotte entfernt. Innerhalb weniger Monate wird der Knochen wieder vom Körper nachgebildet (sog. Reossifikation) und der Schädel im Intervall dazwischen entsprechend der formenden Kraft des wachsenden Gehirns ummodelliert. Diese Operation sollte zwischen dem 5.-6. Lebensmonat durchgeführt werden, da zu diesem Zeitpunkt des maximalen Gehirnwachstums der Innendruck im Kopf am höchsten ist und die erneute Verknöcherung auch problemlos erfolgt. Eine Operation zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt, z.B. mit 3 Monaten erfordert die zusätzliche Behandlung mit einem Helm, der die Neuformung unterstützt. Diese frühe endoskopisch assistierte Therapie bietet insbesondere bei Metopica- und Coronarnahtsynostosen Vorteile, da häufig eine spätere, umformende und größere Operation vermieden werden kann.

Aktive Remodellierung

Die aktive Remodellierung wird beispielsweise bei der Frontalnaht/Metopicasynostose oder der isolierten Coronarnahtsynostose im Alter von 10-12 Monaten angewandt. Hierbei wird der Schädelknochen im Bereich der Stirn und des Daches der Augenhöhle inkl. der verknöcherten Naht entnommen, in geeignete Segmente zerlegt, aktiv umgeformt und anschließend wieder in gewünschter Form zusammengesetzt und an der Schädelbasis fixiert. Damit wird die Fehlform im Bereich von Stirn und Augenskelett verbessert und bei syndromalen Kraniosynostosen auch Platz im Kopf geschaffen.

Bei manchen Synostosen wird auch eine Erweiterung des Schädels nach hinten angewandt.

Als wichtigstes Risiko dieser Operationen ist ein relevanter Blutverlust zu nennen, der vor allem durch die große Wundfläche bedingt ist. Hier ist oft eine Gabe von Blutkonserven und Gerinnungsfaktoren trotz aller blutsparenden Operationstechniken und Maßnahmen während des Eingriffs im Regelfall notwendig. Die Kinder verbringen nach der Operation eine Nacht auf unserer Kinder-Intensivstation um eine optimale Versorgung und Überwachung der Blutwerte zu gewährleisten. Der stationäre Aufenthalt beträgt insgesamt je nach Art der Operation und Alter des Kindes zwischen 4-7 Tagen.

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass eine Kraniosynostose nach einer erfolgreichen Operation erneut so massiv auftritt, das heißt der Platz für das Gehirn zu gering wird, dass eine Zweitoperation notwendig ist, liegt bei isolierten Synostosen bei maximal 10% und bei den Syndromen mit vielen betroffenen Nähten bei mindestens 60%. 


Nachbetreuung

Nach einer Operation werden die Kinder regelmäßig in unserer kraniofazialen Sprechstunde von einem Team aus Kinderneurochirurgen, Mund-Kiefer-Gesichtschirurgen und Neuropädiatern über Jahre nachbetreut um eventuelle Rezidive frühzeitig zu erkennen. 

Formen der Kraniosynostosen

Wissenschaftliche Abbildung
Vorzeitiger Nahtverschluss mit jeweils resultierender charakteristischer Kopfform im Vergleich zur normalen Schädelform bei offenen Schädelnähten. Die verschlossene Naht ist auf der jeweiligen Abbildung nicht mehr sichtbar.

Bei der Sagittalnahtsynostose resultiert aufgrund der veränderten Wachstumsrichtung eine längliche, schmale Schädelform mit ausladendem Hinterkopf und prominenter Stirn (sog. Scaphocephalus). Die Fontanelle ist oft eng oder ganz verschlossen und man kann eine knöcherne Leiste im Bereich der Sagittalnaht tasten.

Die Metopicasynostose führt zu einer im Stirnbereich spitz zulaufenden Kopfform oft mit tastbarer Knochenleiste an der Metopicanaht. Die Form der Stirn kann sich nicht normal entwickeln und es bestehen oft Einziehungen im Bereich der Schläfen oder über der seitlichen Region der Augenhöhlen. Als Ausgleichsreaktion kann man oft ein verstärktes Wachstum des Schädels im hinteren Bereich beobachten. Alles Veränderungen zusammen führen, vor allem von oben betrachtet, zu einer klassischen dreieckigen Kopfform (sog. Trigonocephalus).

Bei der einseitigen Coronarnahtsynostose entwickelt sich eine Asymmetrie von Stirn und auch Gesicht (sog. Gesichtsskoliose) mit Abflachung der Stirn und der Augenhöhle auf der betroffenen Seite und Vorwölbung der Stirn auf der Gegenseite (sog. Anteriorer Plagiocephalus). Das Auge der betroffenen Seite wirkt oft größer, die Nase kann zur Gegenseite abweichen. Die beidseitige Coronarnahtsynostose ist sehr selten und führt zu einem verstärkten Schädelwachstum in die Breite (sog. Brachycephalus). Es entwickelt sich eine sehr hohe und flache Stirn, die Augenhöhlen können verkleinert sein. Oft wächst der Schädel kompensatorisch in die Höhe (sog. Turricephalus).

Bei der Lambdanahtsynostose kommt es zu einer einseitigen Asymmetrie des Hinterkopfes (sog. Posteriorer Plagiocephalus) mit Abflachung auf der betroffenen Seite und kompensatorischer Vorwölbung auf der Gegenseite. Von vorne betrachtet kann eine Asymmetrie der Ohren auffallen. Die wesentliche Differentialdiagnose zur sehr seltenen Lamdanahtsynostose ist der sogenannte und relativ häufige „Lagerungsplagiocephalus“, bei dem die Lambdanähte offen sind.

Zertifikate und Verbände

Springe zum Hauptteil